Mary Hades by Sarah Dalton

maryhades

Title: Mary Hades
Author: Sarah Dalton
E-book: 286 Pages
Published: April 2014

My Rating: ★★★★

Synopsis:

Not many seventeen year old girls have a best friend who’s a ghost, but then Mary Hades isn’t your average teenager.

Scarred physically and mentally from a fire, her parents decide a holiday to an idyllic village in North Yorkshire will help her recover. Nestled in the middle of five moors, Mary expects to have a boring week stuck in a caravan with her parents. Little does she know, evil lurks in the campsite…

Seth Lockwood—a local fairground worker with a dark secret—might be the key to uncovering the murky history that has blighted Nettleby. But Mary is drawn to him in a way that has her questioning her judgement.

Helped by her dead best friend and a quirky gay Goth couple, Mary must stop the unusual deaths occurring in Nettleby. But can she prevent her heart from being broken?

The first in a series of dark YA novels, Mary Hades follows on from the bestselling Kindle Single ‘My Daylight Monsters’. A spine-tingling tale with romance, readers will be shocked and entertained in equal measure.

With some scenes of horror and some strong language, this book is best suited for readers aged fifteen and up.

My Thoughts:

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

This book is about a teenage girl named Mary Hades who has the ability to see ghosts and her best friend happens to be one of them. It takes place in England where Mary’s parents decide to take her on holiday after she has been released from a psychiatric hospital. During her holiday she meets a boy, Seth, and strange things begin to happen wherever she goes.  Death seems to follow Mary despite her best efforts to avoid it.

I found this book to be beautifully written. Having never read anything by Sarah Dalton before, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The synopsis itself sounded appealing enough and it certainly lived up to my expectations; maybe even slightly surpassing them. It was nice to see Mary grow as a character and I really enjoyed the connection that was developed between her and Seth.  Seeing Mary develop friendships that she never thought were possible was also a great addition to the story. I’ll admit, there was a lot more death than I expected but this book would not have become as good as it is without it (That sounds a bit morbid). Dalton’s descriptive nature in her writing definitely shined in this book. I will admit that I was a bit spooked by some of the scenes that played out.

Now to explain my rating. I decided to give this book 4 stars due to the fact that when I started reading the book, I was unaware of the prequel novella, My Daylight Monsters (#0.5), that explains Mary’s past. While reading Mary Hades, I sometimes found myself to be a little lost when there were references to things that happened to her while she was in the psychiatric hospital. We don’t get a whole of detail about it, but enough to kind of develop your own ideas as to what happened, generally speaking. I would have liked to have had a little bit more insight into Mary’s past without actually having to read the novella, mainly because I wasn’t aware of the novella until I was almost done reading this book. I don’t really see a reason to go back and read the prequel novella just because I’m way past that point now and I don’t feel it necessary to learn more about what happened to her, but that’s just my own opinion.  I do, however, hope to continue on with the next book in this series as soon as possible.

Favorite Quotes:

“Death seems to trail me like the train of a wedding dress. I am the corpse bride and my loyal funeral procession nips at my ankles.”

“I wish I could ignore the worst things humans do to each other. But if we all ignored them, the victims would never have anyone to hear them.”

Leave a Reply

