Everlost by Neal Shusterman

everlost

Title: Everlost
Author: Neal Shusterman
Paperback: 384 Pages
ISBN-13: 978-1416997498
Publisher: Simon Pulse

My Rating: ★★★ (3 1/2 Stars)

Synopsis:

Nick and Allie don’t survive the car accident…but their souls don’t exactly get where they’re supposed to get either. Instead, they’re caught halfway between life and death, in a sort of limbo known as Everlost: a shadow of the living world, filled with all the things and places that no longer exist. It’s a magical yet dangerous place where bands of lost children run wild and anyone who stands in the same place too long sinks to the center of the Earth.

When they find Mary, the self-proclaimed queen of lost kids, Nick feels like he’s found a home. But Allie isn’t satisfied spending eternity between worlds. Against all warnings, Allie begins learning the “Criminal Art” of haunting and ventures into dangerous territory, where a monster called the McGill threatens all the souls of Everlost.

In this imaginative novel, Neal Shusterman explores questions of life, death, and what just might lie in between.

My Thoughts:

I have read other books by Neal Shusterman before and I noticed a big difference in his writing style in this book. At least, it seemed that way to me. While I believe that this book is categorized as a young adult book, it read like a middle grade book. Despite that, I still enjoyed it quite a bit. It was a fast read, and that probably had a lot to do with the simplicity in the writing. The story in and of itself was very original in my opinion. I don’t think that I have ever read anything quite like this before.

This story is about a girl named Allie and a boy named Nick who are unfortunately in a car accident that takes both of their lives. They end up in a type of “limbo” known as Everlost.  We follow both of these characters on their journeys: Allie’s, to find her family. Nick’s journey takes an interesting turn that I will not mention due to spoilers. I found both of these characters to be very heartwarming and I grew to absolutely love them throughout the book. Other characters that were introduced in the book, especially Lief, became some of my favorite characters because of their amazing uniqueness.

I think that this book is intended for a much younger audience, but I still found it be a very enjoyable, fast paced read. If you like middle grade books, no matter your age, I highly recommend this book. I do plan to continue on with the trilogy so that I can follow the stories of the characters that I grew to love so much in this book.

Leave a Reply

