My Worst Enemy – Procrastination

Today honestly felt like it was going to be a very productive day! And now it’s 7PM and I feel like I’ve accomplished nothing. I woke up earlier than usual thinking, “Today, I’m going to work on my classwork and get a TON of reading done whilst doing laundry and other chores in between.” I was so excited about the concept of what I had planned (mainly the reading part) and I was seriously looking forward to getting my classwork done so that I could dive right into my current read (Onyx by J. Lynn). I imagined myself being so consumed by the story that I wouldn’t even notice time passing.

reading

But let me tell you how my day actually panned out…

I woke up, had my breakfast, and immediately started on laundry. SUCCESS! Then I browsed the internet for what felt like minutes, but turned into HOURS. Worked on more laundry. Somehow I managed to get my class assignment turned in, although I don’t exactly remember doing it, but I checked – it’s there! Then the internet decided to pull me in yet again with all of its social media craziness! I cannot be the only person that this happens to. It seriously feels like Twitter, YouTube and Facebook are all whispering in my ear throughout the day. It’s been thirty minutes since you’ve checked us. The world could have ended! My internal monologue continues on by telling myself that in no way would that ever possibly happen. But it still lingers like that annoying piece of hair that’s stuck somewhere on your person and you can’t seem to find it because it has somehow managed to become completely invisible.

procrastination

So, as I said before, it’s 7:00pm. Scratch that. 7:20pm. I managed to do my laundry. YAY! I managed to turn in my class assignment. YAY! I read about 20 pages of Onyx… There are no words except the following two: UTTER DISAPPOINTMENT. Maybe tomorrow will be more successful for me. Wish me luck! Also, I’ve just noticed that this post has become somewhat Spongebob themed. My apologies.

Leave a Reply

